Prayer

I always just assumed that my LO would enter Kindergarten at a public school when the time came and I’d take those memorable first day photos getting on the bus, frequent PTA meetings, and be that parent leaning out in the aisle to take pictures at the holiday concert.  I would return to work on a part-time basis and volunteer at the school, just like my mom did when I was a kid.  Unsure of when or where I’d return to work, I’ve been fervently praying for direction on this next stage of my life and as the days go by I wonder whether my original plan fits with His plan.

The fears that I associate with public school are many (violence, bullies, secular driven curriculum, unmotivated student) and while I would miss those “holiday” concerts (we can’t even call them Christmas concerts anymore) I feel like I’m being led down a different road.  Homeschooling also has it’s challenges.  I’m finding that complying with state requirements and simply finding the best curriculum/learning style may be challenging but without a doubt, time-consuming.

I’ve started researching what exactly homeschool entails and, while I’m being bombarded by a volume of material I never expected, I continue to pray and ask for His guidance and verification that this is the path He has for me and my family.  I’m still uncertain what the outcome will be, but I will continue to put all my faith in His wisdom and continue to seek his guidance.

Will this be our path?  Will I return to work?  Will we have to move to a better school district and try and sell our home in this dreadful market?  Only time will tell.  May He continue to guide us all down the path He has lain before us.

“For I know the plans I have for you.  Plans to prosper you and not to harm.  Plans to give you hope and a future. ” Jeremiah 29:11

Leave a Reply

