I’m getting a little excited

I was the odd kid when I was little.  I LOVED school.  I was always eager for summer to end so that I could return to school.  I enjoyed learning and being creative.  My eagerness to learn continued probably into high school, but when the teachers stopped caring and the curriculum was no longer challenging I stopped caring some as well.  I still had a few courses that peeked my interest, like human anatomy, languages, etc, but I definitely lost some of that thirst for learning as well as some of my creativity. 

As I’m reading some of these books on homeschooling, I feel my spirit being reignited.  I’m remembering all the fun activities, and topics I learned in school and I’m getting really excited to share in this learning with my son.  I was afraid that it would be hard to come up with topics, activities, and lesson plans, but I’m starting to realize that I think I would really enjoy it because I still have that thirst for knowledge. 

A few of the books I read say that the parent has to have a love of learning or homeschooling might not work.  I still have that love for learning and I think I can make this work.  In fact, “I can do everything through Him who strengthens me” (Philippians 4:13).  I just can’t say how excited I am right now.  It just hit me and I think that this might be His answer for me.  I know that I can give my son the best education possible and I think both he and I will enjoy this learning path and I can ensure that he has the same thirst for knowledge that I had when I was a child.  I can inspire him to love to learn.

I really think that this is His path for us and I’m embracing it with open arms.  I’m so excited.  It will be A LOT of planning and work on my part, but I’m gonna love it. 

Deuteronomy 4:9 “Watch yourselves closely so that you do not forget the things your eyes have seen or let them slip from your heart as long as you live.  Teach them to your children and to their children after them.”

Leave a Reply

